Quixel Help Center home page

Mixer->UE4 channel packing auto setup

Answered

Comments

8 comments

  • Official comment
    Ian

    Hello Redtide Games

    Thanks for reaching out to us. Our team will be in contact with you shortly!

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Henrik Melsom

    Checking the source code I've been able to determine that the parameter name the plugin looks for is NOT based on what name you give the packed texture, but rather what data the packed texture contains.

    For example, I have a packed texture setup with the name ORM (which is R-AO, G-Roughness, B-Metallic). The resulting parameter being looked for was in that case AR, presumably because this particular material has no metallic data and AR is AO and Roughness.

    TL;DR this is a bug.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Henrik Melsom

    I've managed to produce a build that implements a hacky fix to this issue.

    I look for a parameter named as what's after the last underscore in the texture name, which should be the map name if you're using the default naming settings.

    I have a repo of my fix with windows binaries here: https://gitlab.com/tarvalley/public/megascans-plugin

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Redtide Games

    Hendrik great work! So how does the plugin try to determine the packed content? All it sees is pixel data, unless the hint comes in over the JSON. And thanks for the hotfix, could you also supply a compiled package ready to install?

     

    Quixel folks, you're quiet on this topic, though clearly this is a bug according to your own documentation. Can we see this fix propagaged? 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Henrik Melsom

    You can try replacing everything in your Megascans plugin folder with the contents of this archive.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Redtide Games

    Thanks Henrik, I send a bug report to Quixel with a pointer to this thread, don't know why they haven't responded to it already, they're usually really good. Solutions are to either use your fix, or change the documentation and get the other way to work properly.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Creaper

    I have been racking my brains for hours trying to figure out why this wasn't working according to the documentation. Please fix this! What a waste of time.

     

    HENRIK MELSOM Your fix worked perfectly. Quixel/Epic should pay you for correcting this.

    Your fix works for the 3D Master Material and for Surface Master Material, but not for Plant Master Materials.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ian

    Hello Henrik, thank you for providing the information you have regarding this issue. I will inform our developers of your workaround.

    Redtide Games - Since you have also created a formal support ticket regarding this issue where we have further continued this discussion, I will continue to correspond with you there. However, please refrain from creating support requests in multiple venues for an issue in the future as it can potentially create overlap among our support team. We always aim to help as many users as possible and overlap can slow us down.

    Creaper, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered due to this issue. Should you encounter any such issue in the future please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team!

    1
    Comment actions Permalink

Post is closed for comments.